How to Stop Spotify from Sharing Your Personal Information with Content Providers

- Advertisement -

Spotify is now the largest music streaming service across the world. The app has a vast collection of songs organized in a different playlist. Also, Spotify every day shows different recommendation on your home page based upon your interest and what you listen on Spotify. But, sometimes it can get worse. In this post, I will show you how you can stop Spotify from sharing your personal information with content providers.

A few days earlier, Spotify was accused of sharing their users’ private information with their content providers. However, Spotify claims, the permission has been already taken from the users themselves. So, Spotify does offer their user to choose the option whether they want to share their private registered information such as email id, phone number, name, gender and date of birth with the content provider to enhance your experience.

- Advertisement -

However, it’s bonker that Spotify doesn’t show this option in their app. You will to access through Spotify website and turn it off manually.

Before We Move On, Check this
How to Recover Your Deleted Spotify Playlist

So, that said, let me show you how you can stop Spotify from sharing your private information with content providers.

Stop Spotify from Sharing Your Personal Information

Step 1: Go to Spotify official website — www.spotify.com

Step 2: Now, tap on the Hamburger icon located on right side upper corner > tap on ‘Log In’.

Want to Watch Free Movies?
Best Sites to Watch Movie Online for Free (and Legal)

Step 3: You should get the ‘Account Overview‘ screen after you are logged in. Simply, scroll down and tap on ‘Edit Profile’.

Step 4: On the next screen, you will have to find a checkbox for ‘Share my registration data with Spotify’s content providers for marketing purposes.

It should be ‘unchecked’. As you can see in my case it checked. So, simply tap on checkbox to uncheck and tap on Save Profile button.

It will prevent Spotify from sharing your registered personal information with third-party content providers. The information you enter on any social media platform is your sensitive property. No one wants their information being shared by these platforms with trusted or untrusted third-party firms. So, whatever you enter, please do make sure to read their terms of use.

Recommended Articles

Suggestion
Join our Telegram channel for instant tech updates and smartphone news. Also, you can follow us on our Facebook page.

- Advertisement -